Feb 16

The build up to the T20 World Cup, March 2016

One of the biggest events on the sporting calendar is fast approaching; the T20 World Cup. This is the international championship of Y20 cricket. The tournament consists of 16 teams, which is made up of ten ICC full members and then six other associate members that are selected via the World Twenty20 Qualifier. The ten ICC full members are as follows – Zimbabwe, Australia, West Indies, Sri Lanka, England, Bangladesh, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, and India. There are 37 associate members who will battle it out for one of the six spots. Read on to find out more.

The current champions are Sri Lanka. They beat India by six crickets in 2014 when the tournament is played in Bangladesh. This year, the event starts on March 8th and it is taking place in India. The T20 World Cup will conclude with the final, which is held on April 3rd. The tournament takes the format of a group stage and then a knock out stage. At present, the groups are as follows:

  • Group 1 – Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, and Oman
  • Group 2 –Zimbabwe, Scotland, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong
  • Group 3 –West Indies, England, Sri Lanka, and South Africa
  • Group 4 – Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, and India

The first game will take place on Tuesday, March 8th between Zimbabwe and Hong Kong at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur. Other venues include the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the Feroz Shah Kolta Ground in New Delhi, the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, and Eden Gardens in Kolkata, which is where the final will be held.

There have already been some interesting side stories to the tournament, including the fact that Liam Dawson won a call up for the T20 World Cup over Chris Woakes. This came as a surprise considering the fact that England coach, Trevor Bayliss, admitted he has never seen Dawson play. Pakistan has also named four uncapped players in their squad for the tournament.

So, who are you backing for the win? Do you think Sri Lanka will hold onto their title? Or, is it going to be someone else’s year?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>